You are here: Administration > System management > Synchronize user and group details

Synchronize user and group details

One of the most important tasks when managing PaperCut NG/MF is to configure the User and Group synchronization options. PaperCut NG/MF synchronizes user and group information from a source such as Windows Active Directory (Windows domains) and Google Cloud Directory. This simplifies the administration of the system because you don't need to manage a separate database of users and groups. If a user is added to the domain or is removed from a group, then PaperCut NG/MF automatically synchronizes this information without any intervention from the administrator. For example:

  • Jason configures PaperCut NG/MF to assign an initial credit of $10 to users who are members of the "Students" windows security group.

  • At the start of the new school year Jason has just added 100 new students to the Windows Active Directory.

  • Jason also adds all the users to the "Students" Windows security group.

  • When PaperCut NG/MF next synchronizes with Active Directory, the 100 new users are added to PaperCut NG/MF and automatically assigned the $10 initial credit. This is done automatically without any additional work by Jason.

Important:

Usernames are stored in PaperCut NG/MF as all lower case, regardless of the capitalization of the username in the source directory. Entry of a username by an end user, however, is not case sensitive as it is converted to lowercase before the account is validated.

You can synchronize with the following user directories:

For more information, see:

Tip:

By default, PaperCut NG/MF automatically syncs user and group information with your directory each night. However, you can perform additional full user/group syncs by scheduling a script to run the appropriate server-command command. For more information on using the server-command, see Tools - database, server-command scripting, and APIs (Advanced).